Sheriff's of Wells County

Wells County was created by the 1872-73 territorial legislature and renamed by the 1881

session for Edward Payson Wells of Jamestown (1847-1936), a banker and early promoter of the James River Valley as well as a member of the legislature during 1881. Government organized: August 28, 1884. County Seat: Sykeston, 1884-1894; Fessenden 1894-present. John J O'Connell was appointed the first Sheriff of Wells County.

John J O'Connell	Appointed 1884	A F Belcher	1929-1932
John J O'Connell	1885-1888	Herman W. Schwarz	1933-1936
Jay W Carr	1889-1892	August Wahl	1937-1940
D J Lloyd	1893-1894	E H Morisette	1941-1944
Jay W Carr	1895-1896	Frank R Glaser	1945-1948
George Brynjulson	1897-1900	Moriis Larson	1949-1952
Henry St Jacque	1901-1904	Ewald Wiese	1953-1956
W A Graupmann	1905-1908	Morris Larson	1957-1958
Hapton Lyness	1909-1912	H C Wagner	1959-1966
J N Kunkel	1913-1916	Alfred Lee	1967-1970
John G Pepple	1917-1920	Gordon Paulson	1971-1977
W E Jakle	1921-1924	Curits Pellett	1977
George E Kunkel	1925-1928		