NDCC '11-33-20 does not prevent townships from enacting their own zoning regulations pursuant to NDCC '58-03-11 through NDCC '58-03-15, but it does allow townships to relinquish their powers, or any portion thereof to enact zoning regulations to the county by resolution of the board of township supervisors.

The following is a list of the Townships that have released their responsibilities to the County for the administration and execution of the duties of planning and zoning rights:

For Townships not included in the Wells County Zoning Ordinance, see the Public Officials List on the Auditor's page of this website to find the Township Officials contact list.

	Township	X = Release Filed to be included in Wells County Zoning Ordinance
1	Berlin	•
2	Bilodeau	
3	Bremen	
4	Bull Moose	
5	Cathay	X
6	Chaseley	X
7	Crystal Lake	
8	Delger	
9	Fairville	
10	Forward	Forward Township Local Ordinance.
11	Fram	
12	Germantown	
13	Haaland	
14	Hamburg	X
15	Hawksnest	
16	Heimdal	X
17	Hillsdale	Hillsdale Township Local Ordinance.
18	Johnson	
19	Lynn	X
20	Manfred	X
21	Norway Lake	X
22	Oshkosh	
23	Pony Gulch	
24	Progress	
25	Rusland	
	S. Cottonwood	
27	Silver Lake	
28	Speedwell	Speedwell Township Local Ordinance.
29	St. Anna	
30	Sykeston	
31	Valhalla	
32	Wells	Wells Township Local Ordinance.
33	West Norway	X
34	West Ontario	X
35	Western	Western Township Local Ordinance.
36	Woodward	X